Couple of questions on using wxWidgets on VS.NET 2003 Topic is solved

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
cpp
I live to help wx-kind
I live to help wx-kind

Couple of questions on using wxWidgets on VS.NET 2003

Post by cpp » Fri Sep 30, 2005 1:53 am

Sorry for all the questions, but im a complete noob in wxWidgets (plus my C++ skills are a bit rusty)

A- According to the Sticky FAQ in this forum, to compile wxWidgets i should:
3. Open wxWidgets-2.5.3\src\wxWindows.dsw (I use VS.NET 2003)
4. In Solution explorer select wxWindows project
5. Go to "Properties -> C/C++ -> Code Generation -> Runtime Library"
6. Change "Multi-threaded Debug DLL (/MDd)" to "Multi-threaded Debug (/MTd)" for Debug configuration
7. Change "Multi-threaded DLL (/MD)" to "Multi-threaded (/MT)" for Release configuration
8. Press OK "
yet on install.txt (in the distribution) it sais:
"2. Open build\msw\wx.dsw, which has configurations for static
compilation or DLL compilation, and each of these available in
Unicode/ANSI, Debug/Release and wxUniversal or native variations.
Normally you'll use a static linking ANSI configuration.
Choose the Win32 Debug or Win32 Release configuration (or any other that
suits your needs) and use Batch Build to compile _all_ projects."
I followed the instructions on install.txt (NOT the ones on the FAQ). and it all compiled 100% OK.
Is this OK, or should i do it like it sais on the FAQ?

B- i want so configure VS.NET to Permanently use/find all the wx related stuff, assuming i am using Windows XP, and that i installed & built wxWidgets in D:\wxWidgets262, i assume i neet to add the following paths in VC via Tools->Options->VC++Directories (please correct me if im wrong):

for "include files": D:\wxWidgets262\include
for "Library files": D:\wxWidgets262\lib\vc_lib