[SOLVED] Need help with adding variables to Queries

In this forum you can discuss database related issues which can be wxWidgets related, but also generic in nature.
Slyde
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

[SOLVED] Need help with adding variables to Queries

Post by Slyde »

Hi Forum:

I'm new to C++ and use Code::Blocks and wxSQLite3. Everything is going good except that I'm having trouble using variables in a query statement. Let me show you:

Code: Select all

wxString rec_id = "";
    wxString wt = "";

if (RadioButton_Grams)
        wt = "0";
    else
        wt = "1";

wxString var1 = txtProductName->GetValue();

db->Open("zyx.db");
    db->ExecuteQuery("INSERT INTO recipe_names(recipe, weight_type) VALUES(" + var1 + ", " + wt + ")");
    wxSQLite3ResultSet Res = db->ExecuteQuery("SELECT recipe_id FROM recipe_names WHERE recipe = " + var1 + ")");
    rec_id = Res.GetAsString(0);
It compiles fine, but wxSQLite3 crashes my program as soon as those lines are executed. Will someone show me how I'm to use variables in these queries? And, if you don't mind, I'd rather use prepared statements. I use them on websites with PHP/MariaDB. I assume it's pretty much the same here. But until I get a better understanding (and I'm a simple-minded person) of wxSQLite3, I'm kinda lost.

The database schema (I think that's what it's called) is:

CREATE TABLE recipe_names( recipe_id INTEGER PRIMARY KEY AUTOINCREMENT, recipe TEXT, weight_type INTEGER )
Last edited by Slyde on Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:51 am, edited 3 times in total.
Slyde
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

Re: Need help with adding variables to Queries

Post by Slyde »

I got this partially sorted out.

db->Open("zyx.db");
    db->ExecuteQuery("INSERT INTO recipe_names(recipe, weight_type) VALUES('" + var1 + "', '" + wt + "');");
    wxSQLite3ResultSet Res2 = db->ExecuteQuery("SELECT recipe_id FROM recipe_names WHERE recipe = '" + var1 + "');");
    rec_id = Res2.GetAsString(0);