Happy Day! Today I built my app for wx2.9.5

This forum is reserved for everything you want to talk about. It could be about programming, opinions, open source programs, development in general, or just cool stuff to share!
michael_uman
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Happy Day! Today I built my app for wx2.9.5

Post by michael_uman »

Hello,

I have been using the wxWidgets library for many years now and support two applications which we run on both Windows and Linux platforms. My main application is the Embedded Debugger for the Sigma chipset. I have been building this application against the wx2_8 branch (2.8.12) until recently. For the longest time I have been concerned with the wx2_9 branch, specifically the removal of ANSI build from the options. I also have a special Scintilla Lexer which we use to syntax highlight the DSP assembly code which has required me applying a patch file to every new version which has come out.

Last week I embarked on getting my Debugger to build with the wx2.9.5 release build. My first challenge was to remove all non-wxWidget strings (I had mixed in use of STL's std::string in some of the reusable components) and build everything with wxString instead. This was not so hard considering I used a typedef 'string_t' in most places where strings were used (used regexxer to replace other occurrences). Once this was complete I found some other problems with the wxString class concerning what is returned from '.c_str()' which now requires a cast to (const char*).

One of the controls in my application is derived from a wxTreeControl which I found on wxCode a few years ago. This control is not compatible with wx2.9.5 and I still need to refactor my 'Symbol Browser' dialog to use the new wxTreeControl which is a part of wx2.9.5.