Install help needed

This forum is reserved for everything you want to talk about. It could be about programming, opinions, open source programs, development in general, or just cool stuff to share!
Bryan Kelly
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 10:47 pm

Re: Install help needed

Post by Bryan Kelly »

Try to show the one environment variable:
echo_wxwin.png
echo_wxwin.png (6.3 KiB) Viewed 3947 times
My google searches indicated that the suggestions you made are valid. But the results are not as expected.

I have not been able to channel Luke and the Source. I do suspect Darth and the dark side are whispering to me and affecting my perception of reality.
PB
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 4193
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: Install help needed

Post by PB »

You are using PowerShell instead of the Windows Command Prompt (cmd.exe). AFAIK, the two are not interchangeable. Is it by design (I think Windows has settings where it by default can use PowerShell instead of the good old command prompt)?
User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19115
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: Install help needed

Post by doublemax »

It is an Administrator variable, not a User variable. I don't recognize any method to set user variables. I don't think that matters, but just in case.
You definitely need to set the environment variable for your account, not the administrator.
Use the source, Luke!
Bryan Kelly
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 10:47 pm

Re: Install help needed

Post by Bryan Kelly »

That made a major difference. Thank you.
There are new problems now. It compiles, but,…, there are multiple lines of code with squiggles.
unexpected_squigllies.png
unexpected_squigllies.png (16.66 KiB) Viewed 3904 times
When I use ctl-F5 to run, it complains that two modules are not found:
wxbase317ud_vc14x_x64.dll
wxmsw317ud_core_vc14x_x64.dll

I do observe that the video had me change a directory name from:
"C:\WXWIDGETS\3.1.7\lib\vc14x_x64_dll"
to
"C:\WXWIDGETS\3.1.7\lib\vc142_x64_dll"
This appears to be a linking error, so, visited properties -> Linker -> Input
There I added items to Additional Directories and when that did not work, added to Add Module to Assembly. Neither produce a working app. I took them out.

I also tried copying directory ... vc142... to directory ...vc14x... with no change in the results.
So that directory was removed before I forget about it.

And now, after making changes and removing them, the squiggles are gone but I don't know why.
User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19115
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: Install help needed

Post by doublemax »

When I use ctl-F5 to run, it complains that two modules are not found:
wxbase317ud_vc14x_x64.dll
wxmsw317ud_core_vc14x_x64.dll
Errors that appear at runtime are usually not IDE related. So undo any changes you might have made in the settings while trying to fix the error.

Just with any DLLs, the program must be able to find them. So they must either be in the app directory, or in one of the directories listed in the PATH environment variable. In the video he adds the DLL dir to the PATH at around 1:31. But i would recommend to *not* do that and copy the DLLs to the app directory instead.
And now, after making changes and removing them, the squiggles are gone but I don't know why.
It takes a while until Visual Studio has scanned the whole solution and updated its Intellisense. That happens in the background.
Use the source, Luke!
Bryan Kelly
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 10:47 pm

Re: Install help needed

Post by Bryan Kelly »

After much trial and error, the hello world will now run.
I don’t know where to find “…the app directory…”
As currently configured, for my user variables, “Path” now contains this

Code: Select all

C:\WXWIDGETS\3.1.7\lib\vc142_x64_dll
I tried several times to change it to

Code: Select all

$(WXWIN)\lib\vc142_x64_dll
Which is set to

Code: Select all

C:\WXWIDGETS\3.1.7
It will not work and that puzzles me. Is there an obvious error there?
I also note that changes to my user environment variables are not effective until I do a restart. It might work by just signing out and back in, but I went the restart route.
Finally, line 20 of the code is

Code: Select all

    wxDECLARE_EVENT_TABLE();
and line 31 is

Code: Select all

wxIMPLEMENT_APP(MyApp);
Both are underlined with squiggles. When the cursor is hovered there, the pop up dialog is way beyond my understanding. The dialog for the first ends with:
Function definition for wxDECLARE_EVENT_TABLE not found.
Commenting the line out causes a build failure.
These worry me because since I don’t understand them in this simple program, they may well turn into fatal errors as complexity is added.
I am unsure of as to what to do next, but,

Thank you very much for your time and for your extreme patience.
User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19115
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: Install help needed

Post by doublemax »

Code: Select all

$(WXWIN)\lib\vc142_x64_dll
"$(WXWIN)" is a Visual Studio only syntax. If you want to use an environment variable in another one, use "%WXWIN%".
wxIMPLEMENT_APP(MyApp);
Both are underlined with squiggles.
As long as it compiles, you can ignore that. Visual Studio Intellisense doesn't always understand all the nested macros that wxWidgets uses. You can try to right-click the project in VS and select "Rescan solution". Sometimes that fixes it.
Use the source, Luke!
Bryan Kelly
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 10:47 pm

Re: Install help needed

Post by Bryan Kelly »

OK, and thank you again.
Post Reply