Have questions on linking & IDE

If you are using wxDev-C++ for your wxWidgets design, please ask your questions here instead of in IDE Related.
R_W_B
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Have questions on linking & IDE

Post by R_W_B »

Hello, sorry but I'm a newb on wxDevC++ but I have used the DevC++ IDE some. I have a small Main.cpp app that does compile with no errors, but just need some confirmation on a few things. In some cases a simple yes or no will tell me all I need.

(1) From experimentation it appears you must first create a Project if you want to compile an Executable app.
I.e. you can't compile one simple main.cpp to an object and exe without a Project. It will compile but without a project if you look in the folder there is no Obj or Exe.

(2) Also apparently the compile output window is not accessible from the clip board. I.e. I can't copy and paste my output.

(3) Now please excuse if this sounds dumb, but on a simple console app how can I get it to pause at the end so I can see it ?
I.e. if I run it from within the IDE, it does run but it's just a flash. Same thing if I click on it with a win file manager.
I then opened a command window and tediously changed directories to the folder where my compiled exe file was and then typed in the exact name of the exe file but I get a msg that says no such command. I don't remember having this issue in the past.
Anyhow just wondering what you guys do on this. Thanks for any replies.
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture

Re: Have questions on linking & IDE

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,
1. Yes, unfortunately that is the current trend on the IDE - you have to have a solution/project/whatever in order to produce the executable binary. I believe MSVC 5 was working like that but not MSVC 6. It is unfortunate so, as sometimes you just want to throw in 1 file to test something, but you can't.