Function of class doesn't work

This forum can be used to talk about general design strategies, new ideas and questions in general related to wxWidgets. If you feel your questions doesn't fit anywhere, put it here.
Wanderer82
Ultimate wxWidgets Guru
Ultimate wxWidgets Guru

Function of class doesn't work

Post by Wanderer82 »

Sorry for the weird subject title.

I'm completely new to classes. My question: I created a class "Produkt.h"

Code: Select all

#ifndef PRODUKT_H
#define PRODUKT_H

#include <string>
#include <wx/msgdlg.h>

using namespace std;

class Produkt
{
    public:

Produkt();
        virtual ~Produkt();
        string Name;

void setName(string v)
        {
            Name = v;
        }

void getName()
        {
            wxMessageBox(Name);
        }
    protected:

private:
};

#endif // PRODUKT_H
Now I try to create an object in my main program. As long as I put the command in an OnClickButton for example, everything works fine.

void Klassen_TestFrame::OnButton1Click(wxCommandEvent& event)
{
  Produkt Produkt1;
  Produkt1.setName("Hallo");
  Produkt1.getName();
}
But what I want to do is, create the object not only inside this "OnButton1Click" but so that I can use it everywhere in my program. Concretely: I want to create the object and set its name. But then I want to get the name anywhere in my program. But when I create the object outside "OnButton1Click" I get an error: 'Produkt1' does not name a type".

Thanks for any help.

Thomas

PS: I tried this in a console application inside the "int main" function. No problem there, so it has to do something with the wxWidgets project and where I place the code.
doublemax

Re: Function of class doesn't work

Post by doublemax »

You've probably heard already that using global variables is bad, but let's go with it ;)

First you need to define the variable, this can happen in any .cpp file, but it must be outside any function/method.

#include "product.h"