How do I set up DebugView with CodeLite/wxWidgets?

This forum can be used to talk about general design strategies, new ideas and questions in general related to wxWidgets. If you feel your questions doesn't fit anywhere, put it here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ColleenKobe
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:47 pm

How do I set up DebugView with CodeLite/wxWidgets?

Post by ColleenKobe »

How do I set up DebugView to capture output from CodeLite/wxWidgets programs?

I used DebugView when I used Visual Studios 2013 under Windows 7, and it worked fine. DebugView displayed any message that my program sent to a variable I called "STDOUT" (standard output). DebugView was very helpful for debugging purposes.

I've downloaded and installed the latest-and-greatest DebugView here: http://download.cnet.com/DebugView/3000 ... 13957.html Unfortunately, I cannot get DebugView to capture and display my debug messages.

The problem may be Windows 10, or that I'm using CodeLite (not a Microsoft IDE), or maybe there is something I forgot to do with regards to installation.

Does anyone else here use DebugView? Suggestions?

Code: Select all

Software Versions
CodeLite    10.0.6
MinGW       hard to tell, but I downloaded it on July 10, 2017
Windows 10  Pro, 64-bit
wxWidgets    3.0.2
wxCrafter    2.6

Target platform   32-bit
Target build   debug

Colleen
User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19115
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: How do I set up DebugView with CodeLite/wxWidgets?

Post by doublemax »

I use wxLogDebug to output into DebugView.

However, when you run the exe under the debugger in Visual Studio, VS will catch that output and show it in its output window.

Maybe CodeLite does the same.
Use the source, Luke!
Post Reply