Software Architecture for Reusable Code

This forum can be used to talk about general design strategies, new ideas and questions in general related to wxWidgets. If you feel your questions doesn't fit anywhere, put it here.
ColleenKobe
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

Software Architecture for Reusable Code

Post by ColleenKobe »

I am writing a class in C++ using wxWidgets and wxCrafter, minGW and CodeLite (see versions below). The class will contain procedures to build wxDialogs with controls to call procedures and functions to process data. Ordinary tasks.

My project engineer wants me to write the class so that I can "just drop it into" future work projects.

I am still new to OOP and coding in CodeLite and wxWidgets in general.

So, my question is, what's the best way to go about writing the class so that it can be "dropped into" a future CodeLite workspace? Would it be to make the class its own CodeLite project, and then in a future CodeLite workspaces, "Add an Existing Project"? That's the only solution that I can come up with now, but I thought there might be a better idea out there.

Thanks!

Software Versions

Code: Select all

CodeLite    10.0.4
gcc          4.9.3
tdm-gcc      5.1.0.2
Windows 10  Pro, 64-bit
wxWidgets    3.1.0
wxCrafter    2.6

Target platform   32-bit
Target build   debug
coderrc
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

Re: Software Architecture for Reusable Code

Post by coderrc »

no_cat.meme
Forget about codelite. tomorrow you might be using anything else and on the third day you may find yourself using vim.

Just write your class like you would any other class. You drop it into a project by "add existing item" or the equivalent in your IDE, or even just compiling it as a library then #including the relevent headers and linking against it when you need it.