GUI capabilities?

This forum can be used to talk about general design strategies, new ideas and questions in general related to wxWidgets. If you feel your questions doesn't fit anywhere, put it here.
Anurak
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

GUI capabilities?

Post by Anurak »

I asked in other forums about the capabilities of Qt, CEGUI and wxWidgets, but I still no reply answers my questions. So I decided to ask directly the users of each one. I've used C++ on and off for some projects over the years. Nothing too fancy, since I'm not a programmer; mostly simple games running on console window. I just have fun when I have time to spare.

Right now I'm on Windows XP SP3, using wx-Dev-C++ for the code. I've watched several tutorials about creating simple windows (Hello World window included), but I haven't seen any custom made buttons or imported images used as GUI elements. I decided to create a simple text RPG, similar to many board games which use dice and cards. I'm only interested in the visual presentation of the window, not 3d graphics or complex 2d. What I want to make is a fantasy themed interface which will have a relatively large text box in the middle with scrolling capabilities (to display dice rolls/damage/options). On the left and right I want to display information about the hero and his opponents. If it possible I would like to display some values that will change dynamically (like the health changes after some actions).

I don't really need buttons, except for one that will open a new window which will show details/stats about my character. For all other input (option selections) I will use the keyboard.

Can I do the above with wxWidgets? What troubles me is that I didn't manage to find an example of how to use custom made graphics, like some buttons/windows I can create in photoshop. If I can can you direct me to a link showing a project that is similar to mine? If not where should I turn to?

Thanks in advance.
doublemax