wxTimer interrupts other event handler

This forum can be used to talk about general design strategies, new ideas and questions in general related to wxWidgets. If you feel your questions doesn't fit anywhere, put it here.
Raife
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

wxTimer interrupts other event handler

Post by Raife » Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:57 pm

I'm new to wxWidgets and I'm writing some code to communicate with a remote device using wxMSW. The communication is abstracted such that the device might be connected via TCP/IP, USB, Serial, etc. The remote device only speaks when spoken to, so I have a function 'Send Request' that blocks the current thread (using an unknown delay method in an external library) for a specified amount of time (~100ms)

My application needs to do two things.
1: Poll the device at a specified interval (500-1000ms) using 'Send Request'
2: Respond to clicks of the app's buttons using 'Send Request'

My wxWidgets dialog-based application has a wxTimer member and an EVT_TIMER() event handler to manage the polling.

Polling the remote device works perfectly, until I click one of the buttons on the dialog. I can't explain how or why, but it's possible for my timer event handler to interrupt the button event handler while the button handler is waiting on a response from the device or waiting on a call to wxSleep() (wxSleep added only for testing purposes).

Here's the wxWidgets event table definition

BEGIN_EVENT_TABLE(StatusDlg, wxDialog)
EVT_INIT_DIALOG(StatusDlg::OnInitDialog)
EVT_TIMER(TIMER_ID, StatusDlg::OnTimer)
EVT_BUTTON(XRCID( "IDC_RESET" ), StatusDlg::OnReset )
END_EVENT_TABLE()