wxDb - Postgre - connection and table access.

This forum can be used to talk about general design strategies, new ideas and questions in general related to wxWidgets. If you feel your questions doesn't fit anywhere, put it here.
Post Reply
rosswg
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:05 am

wxDb - Postgre - connection and table access.

Post by rosswg » Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:49 am

As I understand Postgre there is a
1. DNS - which will be PostgreSQL30 - or equivalent
2. Data Base Name - User defined - say 'TestDataBase'
3. Schema Name - User Defined - say 'TestSchema'
4. TableName - User Defined - say 'TestTable'
5. User Name - User defined - say 'TestUser'
6. Password - User defined - say 'TestPassWord'

Now following the example giving in the documentation of wx for a data base, and also searching through the other documentation, I was not able to find how to set the Data Base Name and or schema name.

Again according to the existing Postgre set up being used, the DNS has more than one Data Base, and the the Data Bases have more than one schema.

It would be appreciated if someone could point me in the direction that I should be going, because at the moment I am walking around in circles.
Thankyou :P

rosswg
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:05 am

Post by rosswg » Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:07 am

After more searching and more trial and error. It looks like I am winning. It is just that the schema is one of the last things one sets, and I was looking for it as one of the second things one needs to get. More later

rosswg
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:05 am

Post by rosswg » Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:44 am

Phew - I got something going and then lost it again, and then
when I was trying to get it to go again - I finally found the answer it is this -----

UNDER POSTGRES - AFTER MAKING A CONNECTION YOU MUST THEN USE
THE EXECSQL command AND SET THE DEFAULT SCHEMA TO THE ONE THAT
YOU ARE USING.
IF YOU DO NOT DO THIS - YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO OPEN A TABLE.

Post Reply