Custom Interface Topic is solved

This forum can be used to talk about general design strategies, new ideas and questions in general related to wxWidgets. If you feel your questions doesn't fit anywhere, put it here.
obduk
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee

Custom Interface

Post by obduk »

Hi, I am new to wxWdigets and wanted to confirm something before I start learning how to use wxWidgest.

I wan to develop a program with a custom GUI with its own scheme, close buttons etc.

1) For example iTunes when appearing on Windows has its own close buttons, etc.

2) Or another example is Windows Live Messenger or such likes, how they have a custom window.

I am not quite sure how to explain it better.

Owen
tierra
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by tierra »

That would be called "skinning" the application, and this while this is possible with wxWidgets (google wxSkin), it's heavily discouraged, and not officially supported. You might find that other GUI toolkits offer better solutions in this regard.
obduk
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee

Post by obduk »

Thank you for your post.

Have you any idea then what would be the best way to develop that kind of application in C or C++.

Thanks
upCASE

Post by upCASE »

Hi!
tierra wrote:That would be called "skinning" the application, and this while this is possible with wxWidgets (google wxSkin), it's heavily discouraged, and not officially supported. You might find that other GUI toolkits offer better solutions in this regard.
wxSkin is located at http://upcase.de/wxSkin.html. It does about what you seem to want, but it's still not perfect. For small applications (typically media players and stuff like that) it should however work. I didn't receive much feedback on this, so if you use it I'd be happy to hear about your project.

Why is skinning "heavily discouraged" by the way?