wxMSW - My documents - folder

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
renaud.s
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things

wxMSW - My documents - folder

Post by renaud.s » Thu Mar 02, 2006 3:53 pm

Hello,

I'm using wxFileDialog to save a file. I would like the default directory point to: C:\Documents and Settings\Renaud\My documents or whatever is the default 'My documents' folder for the current user.

At first I though to use wxGetHomeDir() but the problem is that this return the following path: C:\Documents and Settings\Renaud\
so I miss the 'My documents' part.

The problem is that this folder 'name' change depending of the language of the OS you use.... so it would not work to simply add 'My Documents' to the path string :-(

I guess the 'name' of the folder is written somewhere in the windows registry... I'm not experienced enough to know how to access it...

Is there any wx standard way to do it or to directly get a path to this user folder ? This would be something nice to implement in wxWidgets if it doesn't exist yet....

Any suggestion ?

Thanks

stephan
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Post by stephan » Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:35 pm

hi,

use "SHGetSpecialFolderPath" with the correct CSIDL to get the directory. of course this is windows only code.

Code: Select all

char mydocuments[MAX_PATH];    
SHGetSpecialFolderPath( GetDesktopWindow(), mydocuments, CSIDL_PERSONAL,FALSE );

greets,
- stephan.

eco
Filthy Rich wx Solver
Filthy Rich wx Solver

Post by eco » Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:16 pm

Although it doesn't work for getting "My Documents" it may be of interest to know that there is wxStandardPaths for retreiving several other important paths in a cross platform way.

renaud.s
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things

unicode / ainsi

Post by renaud.s » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:24 am

At first, thanks for your help again.