macOS "Big Sur" and frame height Topic is solved

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 7458
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,
Which directory you are taking about?

If its "buildMac" - I'm talking about the directory where you build the library (from where you run configure).

Thank you.
User avatar
rocrail
Super wx Problem Solver
Super wx Problem Solver
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:02 pm
Contact:

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by rocrail »

Hi,

it will not completely compile: (master branch)

Code: Select all

 g++ -std=gnu++11 -isysroot /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/MacOSX.platform/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX.sdk -mmacosx-version-min=11.00 -c -o test_allheaders_allheaders.o  -I/Users/robversluis/Projects/wxWidgets/macbuild/lib/wx/include/osx_cocoa-unicode-static-3.1 -I../../include -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64  -D__WXOSX_COCOA__      -I../../tests  -I../../tests/../samples -I../../3rdparty/catch/include -Wall -Wundef -Wunused-parameter -Wno-ctor-dtor-privacy -Woverloaded-virtual -Wno-deprecated-declarations -O2 -fno-common -dynamic -fPIC -DPIC   -dynamic -fPIC -DPIC   ../../tests/allheaders.cpp
In file included from ../../tests/allheaders.cpp:433:
In file included from ../../tests/testprec.h:5:
In file included from ../../include/wx/evtloop.h:14:
In file included from ../../include/wx/event.h:22:
In file included from ../../include/wx/cursor.h:75:
../../include/wx/utils.h:536:28: error: calling a private constructor of class 'wxString'
    { return wxSetEnv(var, wxString(value)); }
                           ^
../../include/wx/string.h:328:12: note: declared private here
  explicit wxString(const char *psz);
           ^
1 error generated.
make: *** [test_allheaders_allheaders.o] Error 1
Best regards,
Rob.
https://wiki.rocrail.net
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 7458
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,
Do you use 3.1.4 or master?

Thank you.
User avatar
rocrail
Super wx Problem Solver
Super wx Problem Solver
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:02 pm
Contact:

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by rocrail »

Hi,

I use the GIT master.
Best regards,
Rob.
https://wiki.rocrail.net
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 7458
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,
Weird.
How can it be when the build and tests are passing thru the automatic builds every time...

What configure line are you using?

Can you try to run all this on the fresh new checkout on both version of OSX?

Thank you.
User avatar
rocrail
Super wx Problem Solver
Super wx Problem Solver
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:02 pm
Contact:

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by rocrail »

Hi,

this is how I build it:

Code: Select all

git clone --recurse-submodules https://github.com/wxWidgets/wxWidgets.git
cd wxWidgets
mkdir macbuild
cd macbuild
../configure --enable-unicode --with-osx_cocoa --with-macosx-sdk=/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/MacOSX.platform/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX.sdk --with-macosx-version-min=11.00 --enable-graphics_ctx --enable-monolithic --enable-compat28 --disable-mediactrl --disable-shared
make -j 4
sudo make install
Best regards,
Rob.
https://wiki.rocrail.net
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 7458
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,
Can you try with just:

Code: Select all

../configure --enable-debug --with-cocoa
make
cd tests
make
If it builds - it might be that there is some problems with the options you are using...

Thank you.
User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19114
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by doublemax »

under Windows the ClientSize does not fit, and grows the height too.
Using the client size should work on all platforms. If a call to SetClientSize() does not work correctly, it would be a bug and should be reported. But i doubt this is the case.

I suspect this could be caused by calling GetClientSize() and SetClientSize() at different times. E.g. you call GetClientSize() after you created a toolbar, but you call SetClientSize() before you created the toolbar. This would result in the effect you're describing.
Use the source, Luke!
User avatar
rocrail
Super wx Problem Solver
Super wx Problem Solver
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:02 pm
Contact:

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by rocrail »

Good Tip!

I will check this and report.
Best regards,
Rob.
https://wiki.rocrail.net
User avatar
rocrail
Super wx Problem Solver
Super wx Problem Solver
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:02 pm
Contact:

Re: macOS "Big Sur" and frame height

Post by rocrail »

Many Thanks!
This Tip did fix the problem!
Best regards,
Rob.
https://wiki.rocrail.net
Post Reply