Toolbar autosize on linux

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
Post Reply
User avatar
AlSith
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:43 am

Toolbar autosize on linux

Post by AlSith » Tue Jul 21, 2020 4:37 pm

Hi.
I have a new problem with the toolbar, this time on linux.
I create a horizontal toolbar with several buttons whose labels have different lengths. If I add, at the top and bottom, a space to the longest row, the toolbar appears to me with the self-sized keys; if I eliminate these spaces, all the keys take the size of the largest (e. g. "Maglietteria"/" Maglietteria "; this defect does not appear on windows).

could you help me understand .. ??

Code: Select all

 toolbar->InsertTool(insertPoint, lastToolId, "Design", icon, icon, wxITEM_CHECK, helper, helper, (wxObject *)weight);
 toolbar->InsertTool(insertPoint, lastToolId, "Project", icon, icon, wxITEM_CHECK, helper, helper, (wxObject *)weight);
 toolbar->InsertTool(insertPoint, lastToolId, " Maglietteria ", icon, icon, wxITEM_CHECK, helper, helper, (wxObject *)weight);
 ...
Do or Do Not; there is No Try.
Before giving good Advice, good Examples must be given.

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 4245
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: Toolbar autosize on linux

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Tue Jul 21, 2020 8:42 pm

Hi,
Is this with GTK+2 or GTK+3?
Is this on Ubuntu (Unity)?
Can you post a screenshots of what you mean?

User avatar
AlSith
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:43 am

Re: Toolbar autosize on linux

Post by AlSith » Thu Jul 23, 2020 7:24 am

Schermata a 2020-07-23 09-16-37.png
Schermata a 2020-07-23 09-16-37.png (22.42 KiB) Viewed 93 times
shapshot of toolbar if I remove space before and after label "Biglietteria"
Schermata a 2020-07-23 09-19-27.png
Schermata a 2020-07-23 09-19-27.png (21.76 KiB) Viewed 93 times
shapshot of toolbar with space before and after label "Biglietteria"

the system has gtk-2, Debian GNU/Linux 9
Do or Do Not; there is No Try.
Before giving good Advice, good Examples must be given.

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 4245
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: Toolbar autosize on linux

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Thu Jul 23, 2020 8:07 am

Hi,
Can you try with GTK+3?
GTK+2 is very outdated and it can be fixed there already.
You can also try with the latest Git master just to be sure.

Also - what is the exact version of GTK?

Thank you.

User avatar
AlSith
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:43 am

Re: Toolbar autosize on linux

Post by AlSith » Thu Jul 23, 2020 8:12 am

The version is 2.24.31-2.

to try with 'gtk-3' may not be very simple..
Do or Do Not; there is No Try.
Before giving good Advice, good Examples must be given.

User avatar
AlSith
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:43 am

Re: Toolbar autosize on linux

Post by AlSith » Mon Jul 27, 2020 1:41 pm

ok guys, thanks for the support.

At the moment it is not possible for me to try to compile the project with gtk-3, so .. I leave the spaces and continue, at least for now, like this ..
Thank you.
Do or Do Not; there is No Try.
Before giving good Advice, good Examples must be given.

User avatar
AlSith
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:43 am

Re: Toolbar autosize on linux

Post by AlSith » Fri Aug 07, 2020 2:48 pm

Hi guys,

in agreement with my project manager, this issue was considered non-priority and therefore, at the moment, this problem will not see any developments ..

Thanks to everyone for the suggestions; if so, I will update you in the future when the matter is resumed.

Admin, you can close the post if you want.
Do or Do Not; there is No Try.
Before giving good Advice, good Examples must be given.

Post Reply