wxDialog on top of fullscreen app

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
Post Reply
zedroopy
In need of some credit
In need of some credit
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:57 am

wxDialog on top of fullscreen app

Post by zedroopy » Thu Oct 03, 2019 12:25 pm

Hello,

I have a problem keeping a wxDialog on top of another app.
wx is called from a Dll of that main app (VBS3), because I don't have access to the main code.
If the app is windowed, the wxDialog manages to stay on top wether it has focus or not.
If the app is switched to fullscreen, the wxDialog disappears, the main app coming on top.

I'm using wxSTAY_ON_TOP as a style, and this code to call the wx stuff:

Code: Select all

DWORD WINAPI ThreadProc(LPVOID lpParameter)
{
	wxApp::SetInstance(new wxDLLApp());
	wxEntry(GetModuleHandle(NULL), NULL, NULL, SW_SHOW);
	return true;
}
Is there an option or a setup that could make the wxDialog stay on top ?

I'm using wxWidgets 3.1.2, compiled as a Dll.

Thank you for any help you could provide.

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3503
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: wxDialog on top of fullscreen app

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:25 pm

Hi,
Can you reproduce it in the display sample (it has a menu for a full-screen)?

If you can - please open a ticket at trac.wxwidgets.org (you need to register), and submit a steps to reproduce the bug in the sample.

If you will modify the sample in any way - please submit a patch/diff to the sample. DO NOT submit the whole project code.

Thank you.

User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 14167
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: wxDialog on top of fullscreen app

Post by doublemax » Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:58 pm

If the app is switched to fullscreen, the wxDialog disappears, the main app coming on top.
I googled VBS3 and found Virtual Battlespace Sim. Is that it?

If the main app is running in DirectX exclusive mode, i think there is nothing you can do.

I found this: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/318 ... nning-game and there doesn't seem to be an easy solution.
Use the source, Luke!

Post Reply