multiple dialog windows stay open on remote access

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
huber01
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

multiple dialog windows stay open on remote access

Post by huber01 »

Hello Community

I am not a developer but a user of a software that uses wxWidgets.
So please excuse if I might not use proper terms when asking my questions.

We use a third-party software that acts as an interface between our CAD system (Siemens NX) and our PLM system (Aras).
We run it here on a Windows 10 Enterprise (10.0.17763) system. It generally works fine as long as we interact with it on a local machine.
But for some years now we encountered a phenomenon when working with remote access.
We never where really able to consistently reproduce this issue but now I think I found a way.
As the third-party SW developers are still not able to reproduce I thought it might be a good resource to ask here.

Now here is a desription of the issue.
When I work on a local machine and interact with the Software (e.g. create new CAD items or save them) the different dialog windows (that are based on wxWidgets) open and close regularly when clicking the "OK", "Save" or whatever dialog buttons.

When I do the same actions by means of MS Windows "Remote Desktop Connection" e.g. FROM a machine in a meeting TO my local machine, those dialogs do not close properly, i.e. they stay open as multiple instances in the taskbar of my local, when I close the remote connection and return to my local computer.

Maybe it is just an unlucky combination of HArdware, Software and Coding style.
But maybe you have an idea of how this issue might be tracked down further.
Our internal SW-developers say it might have something to do of how the software cleans allocated memory on closing dialogs.
But I have no idea as I am a mechanical engineer.