Best Cross Platform Build Approach?

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
MJ9797
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Best Cross Platform Build Approach?

Post by MJ9797 »

I'm new to cross platform development so I'm unsure how to go about developing simultaneously for Windows and Linux.

I was thinking of having Linux Mint running in a virtual machine and having the code in a shared directory that's available to the virtual machine. I was then going to build the Windows version of the application in Code::Blocks on the physical Windows machine, and have another installation of Code::Blocks on the virtual machine for building the Linux version. However, that seems a bit messy and I'm sure there must be a better way.

Apologies for my ignorance, but could somebody tell me the best way to go about developing for Windows and Linux simultaneously?
tierra
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Best Cross Platform Build Approach?

Post by tierra »

If you only have one computer, consider setting it up to dual-boot both Windows and Linux, and just use your VCS (i.e. git) to sync up your code. You'll want the extra CPU power necessary for compiling the code that you lose while compiling code inside of a virtual machine.
Laurent Berger
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

Post by Laurent Berger »

and use cmake.
L.B.
MJ9797
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Post by MJ9797 »

Thanks a lot for the replies. Dual booting would be a bit of a hassle and my Linux desktop only has a low power Atom processor so would probably be very slow for compilation. I'll give it a try in a virtual machine and see how slow compilation is.

I'm not familiar with cmake but I'll have a read about it now.

Thanks again for the advice.
tierra
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by tierra »