wxWidgets on Android, Ubuntu Mobile, or OpenMoko? Topic is solved

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
JSThePatriot
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

wxWidgets on Android, Ubuntu Mobile, or OpenMoko?

Post by JSThePatriot »

I am trying to follow the Linux Mobile Computing platforms and I love the wxWidgets framework. I am wondering if the wxCommunity is planning to join any of these groups, or try to compile on these platforms. I am new to the embedded environments and am highly interested in them. I am currently working with my development team to get them familiar with the wxFramework. I am interested in opinions, websites and other information on the subject.
OS Windows XP Pro
Compiler MinGW 3.4.5
wxWidgets 2.8.7 (Unicode : Monolithic : Release)
IDE Code::Blocks (Latest Release)
RAD wxFormBuilder (Latest Release)
tierra
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by tierra »

Android uses Java, so that's not likely, but Ubuntu Mobile and OpenMoko provide a Xorg environment with GTK+, so even if new ports aren't created, it may still be possible to use wxGTK on them. I'm not aware of anyone working on anything in that regard though.
JSThePatriot
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

Post by JSThePatriot »

@tierra

I appreciate your response.

I saw that Android was Java based, and that unfortunately turned me off from it. (Saw it after I posted)

Ubuntu Mobile is being made for MIDs. (Mobile Internet Devices) So basically items like the iPhone and souped up PDA's (I think). Also tablet PC's are mentioned. I would imagine that wxWidgets would work on this type of platform, I was just unsure due to the different processor architectures.

OpenMoko I don't even know too much about. It was the first Linux Internet/Phone device that I found out about, and am quite interested in.