Porting from Win32 to wxWidgets

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
r4t4t0sk
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Porting from Win32 to wxWidgets

Post by r4t4t0sk »

Hello everyone! I'm very new to wxWidgets, and I've decided to port an application I'm in the middle of writing from Win32, and I have a problem that I was hoping someone would have a solution to:

The main window of my program displays a 3D DirectX scene.

Now, all of the child windows of the main window can be easily ported to wxWidgets. However, I can't for the life of me seem to get the main window in wxWidgets to draw DirectX. I'm sure there's a way to either do this, or work around it. I just don't know how because I just started learning wxWidgets a few days ago.

Because I already have the main window running smoothly in Win32, I also wouldn't mind having wxWidgets run concurrently with my Win32 code. Again, because I'm so new with wxWidgets, I'm not sure how I would do that properly so that the main window was win32 but all the children were wxWidgets. My main concern would be getting the wxApp to shutdown when I shut the win32 window down, and having the Menu in the win32 window call up wxWidget windows. I know where I would put the shutdown and windows calling functions in my win32 code, I just don't know what wxWidgets functions to call.

Thank you to anyone who replies!

I'm compiling with VC++ .net 2003, and my wxWidgets version is 2.4.2
r4t4t0sk
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

a continuously updating MainLoop() ?

Post by r4t4t0sk »