Page 1 of 1

Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 1:12 pm
by Fahad
Hi,

i want to add a new component in an existing software consisting on two feature i.e:

1- To create a new circuit like 8 bit AND, 16 bit AND, 32 bit AND or more depends on you.
2- To remove or save that circuit.

guide me, Thanks

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 2:06 pm
by doublemax
That's a too generic question and answering it obviously requires knowledge about CEDAR's inner workings, so i don't think anyone will be able to help with this.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 2:23 pm
by Fahad
Thank you #doublemax,

ok leave CEDAR Logic, i just want to make a new project having functionality of creating ,saving and removing logic gate without any INPUT limitations.
if i want to make logic AND gate with 64 , 32, 128 input than it have flexibility to make it. let say i set maximum limitation of 128 INPUT logic gate.

A simple logic gate COMPONENT EDITOR.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 3:04 pm
by doublemax
While i do have a general understanding about logic gates, i have no idea how such an editor would look like. Is it a graphical editor where you build an component using drag-and-drop? Or are we talking about a simple text-based dialog where you just enter data?

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 3:34 pm
by Fahad
Graphical editor is more suitable than to the simple text based( i have seen in logisim based on text based ),

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 4:35 pm
by doublemax
You have a big task ahead of you.

Try looking into wxShapeFramework and wxArt2D, they could save you a lot of time:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/wxsf/
http://www.wxart2d.org/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/wxArt2D

Unfortunately the wxArt2D site is somewhat broken, so you can't see any screenshots.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 6:11 pm
by Fahad
Thank you doublemax,

I'll get back to you after this,


best regards,

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 3:28 pm
by Fahad
Well here few changes in domain, #doublemax,

What if i edit an existing logic gates.

lets say i made any component consisting on AND gate, flip flop , inverters and so on. and i want to make changes in existing gates and that changes
apply virtually not physically.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 6:16 am
by Fahad
kindly take a look over the attached picture. I want to do something like this. A kind of sequential/combination logic circuit. we have individual logic gate xml like AND, OR etc, i am getting problem while connecting one's output others input as given in picture.In connecting more than one gate in single logic gate.
xml code of AND gate is as follows.
<gate> <name>AA_AND2</name>
<caption>2-input AND</caption>
<input> <name>IN_0</name>
<point>-3.00,1</point>
</input>
<input> <name>IN_1</name>
<point>-3.00,-1</point>
</input>
<output> <name>OUT</name>
<point>3.00,0</point>
</output>
<shape>
<line>-2,1,-3.00,1</line>
<line>-2,-1,-3.00,-1</line>
<line>-2,2,-2,-2</line>
<line>-2,2,0,2</line>
<line>-2,-2,0,-2</line>
<line>0,2,0.31,1.98</line>
<line>0.31,1.98,0.62,1.9</line>
<line>0.62,1.9,0.91,1.78</line>
<line>0.91,1.78,1.18,1.62</line>
<line>1.18,1.62,1.41,1.41</line>
<line>1.41,1.41,1.62,1.18</line>
<line>1.62,1.18,1.78,0.91</line>
<line>1.78,0.91,1.9,0.62</line>
<line>1.9,0.62,1.98,0.31</line>
<line>1.98,0.31,2,0</line>
<line>2,0,1.98,-0.31</line>
<line>1.98,-0.31,1.9,-0.62</line>
<line>1.9,-0.62,1.78,-0.91</line>
<line>1.78,-0.91,1.62,-1.18</line>
<line>1.62,-1.18,1.41,-1.41</line>
<line>1.41,-1.41,1.18,-1.62</line>
<line>1.18,-1.62,0.91,-1.78</line>
<line>0.91,-1.78,0.62,-1.9</line>
<line>0.62,-1.9,0.31,-1.98</line>
<line>0.31,-1.98,0,-2</line>
<line>2,0,3.00,0</line>
<line>2.2,0,3.00,0</line>
</shape>
<logic_type>AND</logic_type>
<logic_param>INPUT_BITS 2</logic_param>
</gate>

guide me, thanks.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 11:58 am
by doublemax
I still haven't see the software, so i don't know if this can be done by extending the present code.

If you need to do this from scratch, it'll be some work and i can only give you a general idea:

Create a baseclass for the different gates and then subclasses for the individual gates. The classes need to be able to draw themselves onto a wxDC and they need to contain information about the nodes that can connect to other nodes.

In the background window for all the components, catch all mouse events. On a mouseclick, check if there is a node under it. If the user clicks and drags with a node under the mouse, you need to track the position while the user is dragging. If the mouse is released with another node under the mouse, check if this is a type of node that can connect to the first node. If yes, create an internal connection between the nodes. In addition to that, the drawing code must be able to draw these connections in a "nice" way, i.e. not just straight lines between them.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 3:39 pm
by Fahad
you may get idea from below snapshots.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 3:46 pm
by doublemax
You've totally lost me. I've no idea what to do with those XML files or what you expect from me.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 4:03 pm
by Fahad
ok let me explain, here we have three logic gates, 2 AND gate with 2 input and 1 OR gate. right
individual i can connect them with each other, cedar logic give the functionality of individual drag and drop, but i want to make combinational logic gate, i want to put thrice of them in a single box with 4 input and 1 output.

here i am unable that how i place in a box, and the wire connectivity . kindly install cedar logic in your pc for a moment, so that you may get clear idea what i am trying to say.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 6:02 pm
by doublemax
I installed version 1.5 which doesn't have the "My library" and "User library". But this seems to be more like a Cedar usage question than a wxWidgets programming question.

I understand you want to create a new element that has the combination of the three (2 x AND + 1 x OR) inside. I have no idea if this is possible with the latest Cedar version. And if not and you ask me how to implement it, i don't know either and i'm not willing to dig so deep into the Cedar code to find out. Sorry.

Re: Component Editor for CEDAR Logic Simulator

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 6:15 pm
by Fahad
Oh , these three libraries "My library", "User library" and "Logic gate" i made it for testing these are not part of actual coding. (1 -10) libraries are the part of actual coding.

Anyhow thanks allot for your time.

stay blessed