dynamic zoom over desktop

Are you writing your own components and need help with how to set them up or have questions about the components you are deriving from ? Ask them here.
Post Reply
rafoo
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: grenoble

dynamic zoom over desktop

Post by rafoo »

Hi people,

Well i need some help to built a dynamic zoom.

For me, a dynamic zoom will refresh and be able to zoom area that is not static (e.g a video, or writing in application..). So far, i do a static zoom that change the userscale of a part of a bitmap whom come from a wxScreenDc.

I would like to know if anybody has some advises or tips to get me to the good way?

thanks a lot. :)

Raph.
Auria
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6695
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:23 am
Contact:

Post by Auria »

It will largely depend on what you zoom. For text, increasing the font size may give better results. For a video then scaling the image is pretty much the way to go
rafoo
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: grenoble

Post by rafoo »

I think i must give more details, sorry about that.

What i need to do is quit hard i think, I would like to zoom what is uder my cursor, and be able to act on my desktop (looking to web, writing to files etc..).

It must act like this example

http://www.visionsuit.com/

or this one

http://www.workerscollection.com/wcolle ... rtcut_link

I know that it is possible, but i really hope there is a way to do it with wxwidget GUI... :lol:

So here I am asking for help, clues ? Any ideas? :(

Thanks a lot, :roll:

Raph.
Raph
Auria
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6695
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:23 am
Contact:

Post by Auria »

Should this work for every app, not just yours? If so, then it seems like you will need to dive deep into platform-specific code, i don't think there's any cross-platform way to do this.
rafoo
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: grenoble

Post by rafoo »

Yes, i thought that i would get there...

But the thing is, i have no idea how to do this?? Do i have to use OpenGl, or do i have to use Gdi+ ? But with MinGw i cannot use Gdi+, so i'am a bit screwed up... :(

All clues are welcom to help me getting out of this!!

Thanks a lot for your interest Auria. :wink:

Raph.
Raph
User avatar
T-Rex
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1248
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 9:58 am
Location: Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Contact:

Post by T-Rex »

I think you should yse DirectX overlays for this purpose.

I found a sample here:
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums ... _id=367591
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums ... _id=359319

But it is in C# and I don't have DirectX SDK installed so can't say if it is what you need exactly. But maybe it will help.
rafoo
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: grenoble

Post by rafoo »

cool, i think that's why i needed!! Thanks a lot! I'm going to try that and i'll get back to post reply on the result.

Thanks for your help! :D

Raph.
Raph
rafoo
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: grenoble

Post by rafoo »

Is there a way to do overlays with OpenGl in wxWidget??

i found an attribut to include while creating a wxGlCanvas :
WX_GL_LEVEL 0 for main buffer, >0 for overlay, <0 for underlay
But i'm not sure how to implement it.. Does anybody has a tutorial or a sample to put me on the way?

Thanks a lot.
Raph
rafoo
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: grenoble

Post by rafoo »

is there a solution to do overlays with wxwidget or i must look for a OS solution?

Thanks a lot.

Raph.
Raph
Post Reply