need help!!! can not use some basic socket code!! Topic is solved

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
czczzzz
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee

need help!!! can not use some basic socket code!!

Post by czczzzz »

hello
I am a beginner at wxWidgets and I just (almost) finished my UI for my UDP client....panel..sizer..list...button...they work great!

I just want to use some really baisc socket code

like WSAStartup and addrinfo.......

But I can not include winsock2.h! it will give me a lot of error.

my tiny c code UDP client is fully finished and work well......i just want it have a wxWidgets UI.

but I even can not do a WSAStartup(MAKEWORD(2, 2), &d).....and no define for addrinfo........

Need help please! and sorry for my english

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
version should be 3.15
Last edited by DavidHart on Thu May 13, 2021 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moderator: Removed multiple exclamation marks etc e.g. !!!!!!!!!!a lot of error!!!!!!!!!!a lot of error!!!!!!!!!!
doublemax

Re: need help!!! can not use some basic socket code!!

Post by doublemax »

czczzzz wrote: Thu May 13, 2021 10:48 am But I can not include winsock2.h! it will give me a lot of error.
I assume you mean compiler errors? If yes, which ones?

Try including <wx/msw/wrapwin.h> either instead of winsock2.h or before it.

Also experiment with include order, e.g. first all wx classes, then others. Or vice versa.
Use the source, Luke!
PB
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture

Post by PB »

I am not saying this is related, but until v3.1.6 wxWidgets by default builds with WinSock 1. See define wxUSE_WINSOCK2 in WXDIR/msw/setup.h and in the library folder.

I do not think you can mix two WinSock version in one application but I may be wrong.
New Pagodi