samples.rc

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
branchc
In need of some credit
In need of some credit
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:34 pm

samples.rc

Post by branchc » Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:49 pm

Hi

I'm compiling under MSVS 2019. When I compile the ribbon sample (and all others I've tried) I get an error that wx/msw/wx.rc is not found. The file is there in the include directory but VS can't find it.

If I remove the resource from the project it compiles with no problems (as do all the other samples).

Do I need this resource, if so how do I tell MSVS the path. Not I set $(WXWIN) env variable and used this for the include and lib paths and these all work.

Its only the resource I have an issue with.

Thanks

User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15186
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: samples.rc

Post by doublemax » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:30 pm

The include paths for the resources are defined in Project -> Configation Properties -> Resources
But usually these should be set correctly out of the box.
Use the source, Luke!

branchc
In need of some credit
In need of some credit
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:34 pm

Re: samples.rc

Post by branchc » Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:26 am

:D got it working

Thanks I updated the resource path and also copied samples.ico into the project as this was needed

Note some samples code have an rc file like mdi but ribbon uses a default samples.rc which is in samples dir

So when you copy ribbon out of samples to use it looses the resource.

If you take samples.rc and rename it ribbon.rc and place in the project folder with the other cop files you are good to go just add it to the project in MSvS and remove the samples.rc current included

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 4440
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Re: samples.rc

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:42 pm

Hi,
You might post to wx-users or open the ticket on trac.wxwidgets.org in order for that to be fixed.
That is if yo didn't change anything prior to compiling the samples.

Thank you.

Post Reply