Compilation fails due to "_imp_"s

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
DarthMeow
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Compilation fails due to "_imp_"s

Post by DarthMeow »

Hello, I am new to wxWidgets, mostly spent my time programming in Java and Python, in other IDEs. Anyways, I am trying to create a simple program and it seems that I cannot compile it because of problems with linking. What could possibly cause these errors?

I am using the MinGW compiler packaged with Code::Blocks, and I am using wxWidgets binaries. They are properly set up, and I don't think that I am missing any files.

Thiis is the error.

Code: Select all

||=== Build: Release in Build1 (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
obj\Release\Build1App.o:Build1App.cpp|| undefined reference to `_imp___ZN16wxAppConsoleBase17CheckBuildOptionsEPKcS1_'|
obj\Release\Build1App.o:Build1App.cpp|| undefined reference to `_imp___ZN5wxAppC2Ev'|
obj\Release\Build1App.o:Build1App.cpp|| undefined reference to `_imp___Z7wxEntryP11HINSTANCE__S0_Pci'|
obj\Release\Build1App.o:Build1App.cpp|| undefined reference to `_imp___ZN16wxAppConsoleBase14ms_appInstanceE'|
obj\Release\Build1App.o:Build1App.cpp|| undefined reference to `_imp___Z22wxInitAllImageHandlersv'|
obj\Release\Build1App.o:Build1App.cpp|| undefined reference to `_imp___ZN19wxTopLevelWindowMSW4ShowEb'|
||error: ld returned 1 exit status|
||=== Build failed: 7 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 1 second(s)) ===|
I saw a few threads about these imps, but the solutions don't seem to agree with me.
doublemax

Re: Compilation fails due to "_imp_"s

Post by doublemax »

MinGW compiler packaged with Code::Blocks, and I am using wxWidgets binaries
Which binaries? On the wxWidgets download page i only see binaries for MinGW 7.3 and 8.1. AFAIK CodeBlocks comes with an older 5.1.