Confusion with MinGW-compiler-options Topic is solved

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
art-ganseforth
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits

Confusion with MinGW-compiler-options

Post by art-ganseforth »

Hello everyone,

for a long time i worked with a compiler-setup, that i downloaded at once (IDE, compiler, libraries). Now i want to install the components myself and also update everything to the latest versions, but i'm a newbie in this point.
I was successfull in so far, that i have a working setup now: CondeBlocks (portable), MinGW, wxWidgets 3.1.2 and several openGL-libraries running on a Win10-x64-notebook. But still i don't really understand many things - especially this:

I've two applications: One is a complex openGL-program, the other one is quiet simple and only for testing, but also including the openOL-libraries and creating a wxGLCanwas. Both are (as far as i see) compiled with the same settings, but somehow one needs wxWidgets-dlls, the other one doen't. Similar effects i had with other test-programs.

Maybe someone can explain this?

Best,
Frank
Manolo
Can't get richer than this
Can't get richer than this

Re: Confusion with MinGW-compiler-options

Post by Manolo »

There are two kind of libraries files:
a) dynamic. They are linked to the app as a reference, and loaded at runtime. On MSWindows these files have .dll extension.
b) static. They are linked to the app during linking-time, and so they become part of the .exe file. On MSWindows these files have .a extension if you use MinGW complier; or .lib for MSVStudio.

Creating a dynamic version of wxWidgets is achieved with Mingw using SHARED=1 in the compiling command line used, otherwise static files are created. For VS, just select the desired configuration (wx ships with VS projects).