Set up the pre-compiled binaries.

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
HRSherman
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Set up the pre-compiled binaries.

Post by HRSherman »

Hi,
Warning-- I'm a completely new to wxWidgets and somewhat new to Code::Blocks. I want to start learning to create wxWidget GUI applications for Windows. I have downloaded the binaries (32/64 bit) and the source code for wxWidgets. I was hoping to avoid the build from scratch issue for now.
I am pretty much clueless as to what to do next in setting things up so I can continue.
I'm not sure where to install each download and how to set up the IDE to use these libraries. I'll be happy to get ANY help you can give.
I apologize in advance for my great need for "hand holding" in this process. Like I said I'm VERY new to GUI development and these tools.
Thanks for your time.
Rich :)
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture

Re: Set up the pre-compiled binaries.

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,
Are you going to use C::B for you development?
Also, I presume you already have a MinGW compiler installed of some sort, right? And you downloaded the binaries that are pre-buuilt for you specific compiler, right? I also presumke that you downloaded binaries for version 3.1, correct?

Thank you.
HRSherman
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Post by HRSherman »

Hi,
Thanks for responding. :) Yes to all questions. I'm going to be using it to learning GUI programming and wxWidgets in particular. So I will be using a debug compile mostly. But, If I make anything I want to keep or share, I'll want that compiled for release. So I'll need both types.

Regards,
Rich
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,