Cross Compile to Windows from Linux with wxWidgets

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
kurizu
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Cross Compile to Windows from Linux with wxWidgets

Post by kurizu »

So, I guess I should start by mentioning that I am new to wxWidgets. After following a couple of demos and tutorials, I was able to build a simple GUI with several boxes and buttons with wxWidgets in C++. I'm developing on Linux under Ubuntu 16.04 LTS and have been able to successfully run my code within Linux. Given that I've got the GUI working on Linux, I really want to port it to Windows since I need to do cross-platform development. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to make much progress on this. I downloaded MinGW and was able to make simple executables in C++ that worked on my Windows computer but once I try to compile and export my C++ program with the wxWidgets library, everything goes downhill. The first time I tried cross-compiling I found out that I lacked the wx/msw library (tried to access libraries.h file) so I added that to my wx folder. However, after fixing that, I received a slew of several other errors (none of which were fatal but my executable still wasn't generated). Any help with figuring out how to cross-compile my C++ to Windows from Linux would be greatly appreciated! Even just a working starting point would be helpful.
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture

Re: Cross Compile to Windows from Linux with wxWidgets

Post by ONEEYEMAN »

Hi,
What errors did you receive?

Also, I presume you were working with the wxGTK that you installed from the repository of Ubuntu?
Just download the whole source code and try to compile again.

Thank you.
kurizu
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Post by kurizu »