Deriving from a sample

Do you have a question about makefiles, a compiler or IDE you are using and need to know how to set it up for wxWidgets or why it doesn't compile but other IDE's do ? Post your questions here.
undertone_dj
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Deriving from a sample

Post by undertone_dj »

I'm just starting out in wxWidgets, and I've got it compiling, and the samples running.

Xcode 7.1
SDK 10.6 added
WxWidgets-3.0.1

When I copy the sampes/minimal folder to another location on my hard drive to derive from it and start a new project (maybe that's not the way to go about this? Making a new xcodeproj, and adding wxWidgets source might be the more proper way?)... when I compile, I get 11 errors immediately.

/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:20:10: 'wx/wxprec.h' file not found
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:47:22: Expected class name
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:56:26: Expected ';' at end of declaration list
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:60:24: Unknown class name 'wxFrame'; did you mean 'MyFrame'?
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:60:24: Base class has incomplete type
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:64:19: Unknown type name 'wxString'
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:67:17: Unknown type name 'wxCommandEvent'
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:68:18: Unknown type name 'wxCommandEvent'
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:72:5: C++ requires a type specifier for all declarations
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:83:20: Use of undeclared identifier 'wxID_EXIT'
/Users/dj/Documents/projects/training/wxWidgets/minimal/minimal.cpp:88:21: Use of undeclared identifier 'wxID_ABOUT'