Propose for another down time of wxForum Topic is solved

The Forum Rules, general FAQ and questions or comments about the forum are posted here.
Post Reply
Utensil
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:38 am
Location: China

Propose for another down time of wxForum

Post by Utensil » Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:39 am

Hi Jorg and upCase,

In "Any thoughts about the UNICODE problem in the title?", for permanently fixing the UNICODE problem of this forum, we discussed the possibility to download the whole DB of wxForum, change their coding into utf-8 and upload them again.

I guess it's time to do so, due to the following two new reasons:

1) The lately down time of wxForum(cuased by an explosion) suggested the necessity of backing up the DB of wxForum;

2) So far, it's not possible to search non-English key words in wxForum, I guess it's solveable by doing so.

I understand that this task is substantially time-consuming, so I wonder if you have spare time recently so that this task can be scheduled to be performed within one or two months?

Thanks for All and Regards,

Utensil
In fascination of creating worlds by words, and in pursuit of words behind the world.

On Github: http://utensil.github.com
Technical Blog in Chinese: http://utensil.iteye.com/

Jorg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3971
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Delft, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Jorg » Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:02 pm

Utensil,

I would love to do that but the problem is that the mechanism that does the upload in the phpMyAdmin does not work well for large databases, and believe me this DB is LARGE.

So this is not a trivial task that I can do. I need to look into SSH again and see if I can open a remote session to the shadonet server, log into the DB, dump everything into a mysql format, somehow convert, drop the original DB and replace it.

As it only affects the searching (which should be fixed, I know), and already having a busy life at the moment, it kind of got stalled unintentionally.

I will see if I can set up a shadow server where I can experiment with the conversion process and check if the retrieved data is actually VALID data (what if we would drop a DB and can't convert the MySQL data to a new DB anymore?)

So it needs to be done in small chunks. Now that I run Linux natively at home, I can try to set up a home version of a LAMP stack to expiriment with, or use my shadow domain to setup an expirimentation forum there.

Simply converting and replacing is something I am reluctant towards, so it must be a fail safe mechanism

- Jorgen
Forensic Software Engineer
Netherlands Forensic Insitute
http://english.forensischinstituut.nl/
-------------------------------------
Jorg's WasteBucket
http://www.xs4all.nl/~jorgb/wb

Utensil
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:38 am
Location: China

Post by Utensil » Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 am

Jorg wrote: I will see if I can set up a shadow server where I can experiment with the conversion process and check if the retrieved data is actually VALID data (what if we would drop a DB and can't convert the MySQL data to a new DB anymore?)

So it needs to be done in small chunks. Now that I run Linux natively at home, I can try to set up a home version of a LAMP stack to expiriment with, or use my shadow domain to setup an expirimentation forum there.

Simply converting and replacing is something I am reluctant towards, so it must be a fail safe mechanism
Yeah, it's a dangerous task which really needs fail safe mechanism. Personally I prefer a VALID backup to be done rather than the conversion. Safety comes first, function improvements can wait.

Regards,

Utensil
In fascination of creating worlds by words, and in pursuit of words behind the world.

On Github: http://utensil.github.com
Technical Blog in Chinese: http://utensil.iteye.com/

jsheets
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:21 pm

Post by jsheets » Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:05 pm

Hi Jorg,

If you have any trouble with SSH access let me know. Also I can set you up with a staging environment if you need it.

Post Reply