Moderators: please fix!!!!

The Forum Rules, general FAQ and questions or comments about the forum are posted here.
ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3403
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Moderators: please fix!!!!

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Fri May 30, 2008 11:28 pm

Hi, ALL,
Whanever I try to post a reply to a message here, and want to use a special symbol, like, for example "Bold Font", I click on the "boxed B".
The problem is that the tag shows up, but it shows up at the end of the message. I have to go down do a little cut-n-paste and then the same when I want to close the "bolding".

Could you please fix it?

Thank you.

mc2r
wxWorld Domination!
wxWorld Domination!
Posts: 1195
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Denver, Co
Contact:

Post by mc2r » Fri May 30, 2008 11:52 pm

I think it is working as it should and the problem lies in your usage.

If you click the B box it places the open

Code: Select all

[b]
if you don't click the B box again it will places the closing

Code: Select all

[/b]
at the end of the post. However if you click the B box a second time it will place the closing

Code: Select all

[/b]
at the cursor location.

The second way to use this is to make a selection and then click the B box once and it will place both tags at either end of the selection.

The same rules apply for the other tags.

-Max

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3403
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Sat May 31, 2008 5:06 am

Hi,
I don't think it's working properly.
I hit reply, then start typing. Then I hit the "B" button.
Instead of putting open "B" in the cursor position, it puts it at the end of the message.

Thank you.

mc2r
wxWorld Domination!
wxWorld Domination!
Posts: 1195
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Denver, Co
Contact:

Post by mc2r » Sat May 31, 2008 5:12 am

ONEEYEMAN wrote:I hit reply, then start typing. Then I hit the "B" button.
Instead of putting open "B" in the cursor position, it puts it at the end of the message.
You are correct. I just tested it and the b is appended at the end of the message not inserted at the cursor position.

Selecting the section you want bolded does appear to work.

Not sure if this is something the moderators can fix or if it is a problem with bbcode.

-Max

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3403
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Sat May 31, 2008 6:53 am

They should be able to.
It's working fine in a couple other forums I am a subscriber...

Thanx for testing and confirming!

Jorg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3971
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Delft, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Jorg » Sat May 31, 2008 8:35 am

I always thought it was a browser specific thing. It is easy to overcome by simply selecting parts you want to make bold and press the bold button. I just tested that, and it encapsulates the word perfectly.

- Jorgen
Forensic Software Engineer
Netherlands Forensic Insitute
http://english.forensischinstituut.nl/
-------------------------------------
Jorg's WasteBucket
http://www.xs4all.nl/~jorgb/wb

NinjaNL
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 899
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Oosterwolde, Netherlands

Post by NinjaNL » Sat May 31, 2008 11:31 am

Jorg wrote:It is easy to overcome by simply selecting parts you want to make bold and press the bold button.
Non the less, I agree with ONEEYEMAN, this can be irritating. If I remember correctly all the button functions (B/i/U/Quote/Code/List/List=/Img/URL) add their code to the end of the message (as well as moving the cursor to the end of the message), not at their current cursor position.

Selecting and applying the styles correctly encapsulates the selected text.
Follow the development of my screenplay authoring program at http://wxscreenplaywriter.blogspot.com/

Jorg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3971
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Delft, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Jorg » Sat May 31, 2008 3:48 pm

It's funny that this is here for 3 years already, it is not recent ;-) When I find some time or upCASE we will look into it. Did anybody check this with internet explorer?

- Jorgen
Forensic Software Engineer
Netherlands Forensic Insitute
http://english.forensischinstituut.nl/
-------------------------------------
Jorg's WasteBucket
http://www.xs4all.nl/~jorgb/wb

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3403
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Sat May 31, 2008 5:07 pm

Jorg,
I know, I should've said smth. earlier... :)
And I'm using IE.

Thank you.

mc2r
wxWorld Domination!
wxWorld Domination!
Posts: 1195
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Denver, Co
Contact:

Post by mc2r » Sat May 31, 2008 6:18 pm

I never noticed it but I usually write first then format. I get to confused otherwise ;)

-Max

Sof_T
Can't get richer than this
Can't get richer than this
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:48 pm
Location: New Forest, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Sof_T » Mon Jun 02, 2008 8:16 pm

I have noticed this for as long as I have used to forum, but I have gotten used to writing the message then selecting and formatting afterwards. I just assumed that this was a design feature. It works the same of IE and Mozilla.

Sof.T
The home of Sof.T http://www.sof-t.site88.net/
Author of Programming with wxDevC++
http://sourceforge.net/projects/wxdevcpp-book/

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3403
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:29 pm

Here is another problem.

"List" tag does not work...

ONEEYEMAN
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3403
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:22 am
Location: USA, Ukraine

Post by ONEEYEMAN » Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:32 pm

Hi, guys,
What is the status of this one? Should it be closed?

Thank you.

upCASE
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3176
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:55 am
Location: Germany, Cologne

Post by upCASE » Mon Sep 15, 2008 7:49 am

Hi!
Sorry I didn't reply earlier, but I was on vacation.

About the bold issue: Correct, I'll have a look at this when I find the time.

About the list issue: There is no problem with it.
List:
  • Test
  • Test
Ordered list 1
  1. Test
  2. Test
Ordered list 2
  1. Test
  2. Test
Check the bbcode help for the list format options.
OS: OpenSuSE, Ubuntu, Win XP Pro
wx: svn
Compiler: gcc 4.5.1, VC 2008, eVC 4

"If it was hard to write it should be hard to read..." - the unknown coder
"Try not! Do. Or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

upCASE
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3176
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:55 am
Location: Germany, Cologne

Post by upCASE » Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:18 am

Hi!
Just has a look at the tag inserting. It can be done, but there are some differences between the browsers. I'll have a look at that later.
OS: OpenSuSE, Ubuntu, Win XP Pro
wx: svn
Compiler: gcc 4.5.1, VC 2008, eVC 4

"If it was hard to write it should be hard to read..." - the unknown coder
"Try not! Do. Or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

Post Reply