wxAUI 0.9.2 released - docking/toolbar library for wxWidgets

Do you like to promote your wxWidgets based application or component!? Post it here and let's see what the critics have to say. Also, if you found that ONE wx component the world needs to know about, put it here for future reference.
bwilliams
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Post by bwilliams »

Hey all,

OK, We've just released the latest version of wxAUI -- version 0.9.1. There's a lot of new goodies in the latest version.

Check it out here:
http://www.kirix.com/en/community/opens ... wxaui.html

All the best,
Ben
Jamie
Filthy Rich wx Solver
Filthy Rich wx Solver
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:56 pm

Post by Jamie »

I noticed in the sample when the frame is resized vertically the status bar corrupts the bottom pane. I've committed a fix for this to CVS:

http://cvs.wxwidgets.org/viewcvs.cgi/wx ... 2=1.61.2.2

Applying this to 2.6.2 and recompiling the sample results in a noticable visual improvement when resizing.

Also a suggestion, you will need to use double buffering in your wxDefaultDockArt::DrawCaption implementation to avoid the flicker from drawing the text over the background.

BTW, excellent work.
bwilliams
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Post by bwilliams »

Jamie wrote:I noticed in the sample when the frame is resized vertically the status bar corrupts the bottom pane. I've committed a fix for this to CVS
Hey, that's fantastic. Thanks-- I had also noticed this problem.
bwilliams
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Post by bwilliams »

Hey all,

We've just released the latest version of wxAUI -- version 0.9.2. wxMac support is in, and a lot of bugs, display glitches and crashes have been fixed. Thanks for all your comments and support.

Here's the link:
http://www.kirix.com/en/community/opens ... wxaui.html

Very best,
Ben
Jamie
Filthy Rich wx Solver
Filthy Rich wx Solver
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:56 pm

Post by Jamie »

The download links give me this message:

Invalid credentials. Failure.

EDIT: cookies needed...
theigor
Experienced Solver
Experienced Solver
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Post by theigor »

with wxWidgets 2.6.2 and wxAUI 0.9.1 I had this toolbar:
Image

with wx 2.6.3 and AUI 0.9.2 I've got this:
Image

Weird huh?
ideas?
lowjoel
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 1511
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 11:37 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Post by lowjoel »

theigor wrote:with wxWidgets 2.6.2 and wxAUI 0.9.1 I had this toolbar:
Image

with wx 2.6.3 and AUI 0.9.2 I've got this:
Image

Weird huh?
ideas?
Have a go at http://www.kirix.com/en/community/forums/ i think more people will help there.
User avatar
kolo
Earned some good credits
Earned some good credits
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:19 pm
Location: Russia, Cheboksary
Contact:

Problems with toolbars

Post by kolo »

@theigor
I had the same problem with toobars. There are problems with size after loading perspective. Try this code

Somewhere in your code

Code: Select all

// creating toolbars
wxSize toolbarBestSize = m_frameManager.GetPane("yourToolBarName").best_size;

// after loading perspective
m_frameManager.GetPane("yourToolBarName").BestSize(toolbarBestSize);
only MSW & MSVS ))
bwilliams
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Post by bwilliams »

theigor wrote:with wxWidgets 2.6.2 and wxAUI 0.9.1 I had this toolbar:
The problem is as follows. In wxWidgets 2.6.3, the toolbar's initial client size (when wxDefaultSize) is specified no longer is set to the toolbar's minimum acceptable size. This is slightly different behavior than 2.6.2.

To fix this problem, we added code that sets toolbar initial toolbar sizes to whatever wxToolBar::GetBestSize() returns. Unfortunately, the size that is being returned by the class is too small (vertically). I don't know why.

At any rate, the way to get around this is to do your own wxToolBar::GetBestSize() call, then specify this size on your AddPane call with the BestSize parameter, while at the same time increasing the y parameter by the number of missing pixels.

I hope that wxToolBar::GetBestSize() on win32 can be fixed soon.

Either that, or you can check out the code that is doing the wrong calculation. It's called from wxAUI 0.9.2 on line 1293.

All the best,
Ben
theigor
Experienced Solver
Experienced Solver
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Post by theigor »

Can I have the same behavior of toolbars set by ToolbarPane() in menus? Like MS Word?
bwilliams
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Post by bwilliams »

theigor wrote:Can I have the same behavior of toolbars set by ToolbarPane() in menus? Like MS Word?
Perhaps in the future I will implement this feature. For now, you can check out wxCoolBar: http://www.planet-berlin-it.de/wx/wxcoolbar/

Best,
Ben
Post Reply