Memory leaks concern

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
DjSt3rios
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee

Memory leaks concern

Post by DjSt3rios »

Hi my friends, I am fairly new in C++ and I think I have memory leaks, although I do delete everything that's not an wx object, but I noticed that when I switch between 2 windows all the time, the memory is slowly going up. I have a login screen and a main window. The application starts with 6MB RAM of usage, I login and then logout 4-6 times, and the RAM usage is about 10MB, which is not much, but still if I am doing something wrong I'd like to know it. Is this normal to happen? I thought maybe there is some sort of Garbage collection that runs once in a while, but if I am not mistaken C++ does not even have such a system(not by default anyway). Here's an example of logging out(Main window closes, and login window is created):

Code: Select all

GeneralDialog dlg(nullptr,"Logout confirmation","Are you sure you want to logout?");
	if (dlg.ShowModal() == wxID_YES)
	{
		wxGetApp().user->Logout();
		wxGetApp().mainWindow->Close(true);
		wxGetApp().mainWindow->Destroy();
		wxGetApp().loginWindow = new LoginWindow(nullptr);
		wxGetApp().loginWindow->Show();
		delete wxGetApp().mainWindow;
	}
and once the user is logged in, the new window is created with this code:

wxGetApp().mainWindow = new MainWindow(nullptr);
		wxGetApp().mainWindow->Show(true);
		wxGetApp().loginWindow->Close(true);
		wxGetApp().loginWindow->Destroy();
		delete wxGetApp().loginWindow;
Almost all the objects I use are derived from wx, like wxString, wxImage etc, which should be deleted automatically, right?
doublemax

Re: Memory leaks concern

Post by doublemax »

I don't see any obvious memory leaks in that code, but i'm surprised it doesn't crash.