Problem with size of pulldown on wxChoice

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
Skywise
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Problem with size of pulldown on wxChoice

Post by Skywise »

First of all, I apologize for the length of this post.

I am a self taught hobbyist programmer of several decades. I am pretty darned good at googling and reading manuals to figure things out so it is rare that I feel the need to ask for help. I've only posted here once before. The docs are great. But as such, I do recognize I have large gaps in my knowledge.

Moving on...

Brief:

I have encountered a problem with wxChoice.

I am building my program with CodeBlocks using the wxSmith plugin, on Windows, for Windows.

The behavior of the height of the pull down menu is inconsistent with the values I set and other build options, specifically on whether I've built my program to require admin rights or not.

This is a change in behavior from my previous wxWidgets version 3.0.4, which seemed to behave 'normally', or at least not in a way that attracted my attention as an issue.

Details about my build environment:

Windows 7 Home Prem x64
CodeBlocks 17.12 build Dec 25, 2017 08:45:27 - wx2.8.12 (Windows, unicode) - 32bit
wxWidgets 3.1.2 static built with the following arguments:
mingw32-make -f makefile.gcc SHARED=0 UNICODE=1 USE_OPENGL=1 BUILD=release

Background:

I am writing a program that uses low level direct physical disk access. This of course requires the program to have administrative rights under windows.

I am using a manifest file in my project's resource.rc file so the manifest is built into my final exe.