Wxbutton label font resize

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
Emerald2240
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things

Wxbutton label font resize

Post by Emerald2240 »

Hello!
I'm a newbie in wxwidgets! selftaught and teaching, I recently built a calculator app for calculating basic functions and some people complained about how small the labels/Display was.
So I managed to create a wxfont function to increase the size of my wxtextctrl display but I don't seem to be able to find any function relating to the change of the label of my buttons' size to something larger...
Forgive my naivety
doublemax

Re: Wxbutton label font resize

Post by doublemax »

So I managed to create a wxfont function to increase the size of my wxtextctrl display
I'm not quite sure what you mean by that, but if you managed to set a bigger font for a text control, the same will work for buttons.

If you want a bigger font for all controls, set a bigger font for the parent of these controls *before* creating them. By that they will all inherit the bigger font.

Code: Select all

wxFont font = GetFont();                    // get the current font of, e.g. a wxFrame, depending on the context of this code
font.SetPixelSize( wxSize(0,24) );
SetFont( font );
// create child controls here...
Or you can set the new font for individual controls only:

wxFont font = GetFont();                    // get the current font of, e.g. a wxFrame, depending on the context of this code

wxButton *button = new wxButton(panel, wxID_ANY, "button one");
button->SetFont( font );
If you use sizers for the layout of the controls (what you should do), then the controls will automatically get sizes that are big enough for the font size.
Use the source, Luke!
Emerald2240
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things

Post by Emerald2240 »

doublemax wrote: