wxMenu - keep it open

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
Post Reply
heinermueller
Experienced Solver
Experienced Solver
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:54 am

wxMenu - keep it open

Post by heinermueller » Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:49 pm

I have a wxMenu, and i want to dynamically change it while keeping it open.
To be more precise, i want to en-/disable a submenu when a RadioItem inside
the menu is changed.
By now my users have to open the menu, select, check, re-open the menu and
then continue. Is there a possibility to enable a submenu but keep the main
menu open?

Best regards,
Heiner

User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: wxMenu - keep it open

Post by doublemax » Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:21 pm

Until you find a Windows application that uses native menus and does this, i'd say it's impossible (at least under Windows).
Use the source, Luke!

heinermueller
Experienced Solver
Experienced Solver
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:54 am

Re: wxMenu - keep it open

Post by heinermueller » Sun Apr 03, 2016 9:58 am

ok, thank you for the information. Actually i was really surprised, because at a first look this is not much more than a dynamic re-layout of a window, and we can en/disable controls in other dialogs easily ... is there any fundamental difference betreen a menu and a dialog?

User avatar
doublemax
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15263
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: $FCE2

Re: wxMenu - keep it open

Post by doublemax » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:01 am

Actually i was really surprised, because at a first look this is not much more than a dynamic re-layout of a window, and we can en/disable controls in other dialogs easily ... is there any fundamental difference betreen a menu and a dialog?
You can re-layout menus, the problem is to keep them open. AFAIK all native menus are closed automatically when the user clicks on an entry.
Use the source, Luke!

Post Reply