C++ and wxWidgets questions?

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
LoneRanger
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

C++ and wxWidgets questions?

Post by LoneRanger » Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:15 pm

I'm an experienced Programmer/Analyst and fluent in several languages. I'm new to C++ and wxWidgets.

I noticed that Audacity was written using wxWidgets.

I've got a project that involves .wav audio files. I need to evaluate 16bit .wav files for amplitude and be able to parse out sections of the .wav files and create new files of the selected sub-sections, based on amplitude.

Do you know if I will be able to use wxWidgets with Microsoft visual studio Express C++? Or is there some other free C++ compiler that I will need for my project? Or does wxWidgets give me everything I will need, including an IDE?

T-Rex

Re: C++ and wxWidgets questions?

Post by T-Rex » Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:26 pm

Free Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition (and other free versions of Visual Studio) supports wxWidgets. So you can develop the apps using C++/wxWidgets without any payments to MS.
If it comes to WAV file processing then this task should be performed using 3rd-party library, you probably can reuse the pieces of code from Audacity or use the same 3rd-party libs as Audacity uses. There are also several samples of wave file processing at http://codeproject.com as far as I remember.

LoneRanger
In need of some credit
In need of some credit

Post by LoneRanger » Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:37 pm

Thanks T-Rex,

That tells me a lot. That's a good suggestion about taking a peek at Audacity's libraries and code... I'll check out codeproject too! :D

whoops
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee

Post by whoops » Wed Aug 12, 2015 1:54 am

hi, LoneRanger, i'm using Microsoft Visual Studio C++ Express 2010 to build wxWidgets