Want to associate a pointer to object to each row of wxGrid

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
kathbeau
Knows some wx things
Knows some wx things

Want to associate a pointer to object to each row of wxGrid

Post by kathbeau »

I'm new to wxWidgets, but have been using the Visual Component Library (C++ Builder and Delphi) for 18 years.

The VCL's TStringGrid class has an Objects array into which I can store pointers to objects representing information about the contents of a grid row. I generally store objects that have the source data primary key plus state information; I call them "cargo". (I maintain a separate list of these cargo objects for managing their destruction.) When a user performs an action on a row of the grid, I can quickly retrieve the "cargo" from the Objects array and use its information as needed.

Does a comparable concept exist in the wxWidgets list/grid controls? I'm not seeing it in the documentation, but wanted to ask before I build a Rube Goldberg solution of my own!

Thanks,
Kathleen
doublemax

Re: Want to associate a pointer to object to each row of wxG

Post by doublemax »

You could try to derive your own class from wxGridCellAttr, store additional data in it and use wxGrid::SetRowAttr() to set it for each row.

But i'd suggest to derive your own class from wxGridTableBase and set it with wxGrid::SetTable(). In that case you manage all data yourself, wxGrid just displays it.
Use the source, Luke!
Manolo
Can't get richer than this
Can't get richer than this

Post by Manolo »

wxGrid has many features, included the one you ask for.
http://docs.wxwidgets.org/trunk/overview_grid.html

Data is shown in the window as a string. This means "some one" translates data into a wxString. This is a wxGridCellRenderer.
Data in a cell may be edited by the user, using a wxGridCellEditor.