Delegate task to another thread - Help Topic is solved

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
evstevemd
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture

Delegate task to another thread - Help

Post by evstevemd » Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:34 pm

Hi,
My GUI thread was handling all the database issues and all the stuff. Now I want to delegate some tasks on the background thread. I have previously asked here about thread and I have theoretical knowledge of inheriting from wxThread and implement wxThread::Entry(). But I'm puzzled on how to exchange data btwn threads. I have never done before threads.

Basically each time the thread is dispatched it have to query database and return the resultset from Database (wxSQLite3)

Thanks
Chief Justice: We have trouble dear citizens!
Citizens: What it is his honor?
Chief Justice:Our president is an atheist, who will he swear to?
[Ubuntu 19.04/Windows 10 Pro/MacOS 10.13 - GCC/MinGW/Clang, CodeLite IDE]

Auria
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Auria » Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:52 pm

Exchanging data can be done in several ways.

1) Give a copy of the data to the thread when creating it. A copy will avoid all synchronisation problems.
2) Give a pointer to some class to the thread when creating it. Then you need to use mutexes to synchronize accesses to this class since it's not a copy.
3) Use the new message queue class if you use wx 2.9 : http://docs.wxwidgets.org/trunk/classwx ... _01_4.html (especially useful to communicate from the main thread to the thread)
4) To communicate from the thread to the main thread, see : http://wiki.wxwidgets.org/Inter-Thread_ ... ain_thread
"Keyboard not detected. Press F1 to continue"
-- Windows

evstevemd
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture

Post by evstevemd » Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:35 pm

Auria wrote:Exchanging data can be done in several ways.