wxWidgets Executable Size Topic is solved

If you are using the main C++ distribution of wxWidgets, Feel free to ask any question related to wxWidgets development here. This means questions regarding to C++ and wxWidgets, not compile problems.
Post Reply
quandary
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:47 pm
Location: Chocolate country
Contact:

wxWidgets Executable Size

Post by quandary »

Hi!

I have a wxWidgets application.
Basically, what it does is opening a OpenFile Dialog box and then writing the filename and path into a config file.

Now, I now that the executable size of wxWidgets is supposed to be rather big.

But I compiled my application on Windows, where it gets 4.5 MB big, and on Linux, where it is "only" 221 kB.

On both platforms I compile with

Code: Select all

g++ injector.cpp `wx-config --libs` `wx-config --cxxflags` -o inject
Is that normal that on Windows, the executable is 20 times as big as on Linux, or is there another reason for this (like some debug info compiled)?
Al Gore's four simple things that you can do to save the planet:
1) Eat your mail.
2) Don't drag your feet when you walk.
3) Do cross-word puzzles in your head.
4) Teach your pet to perform photosynthesis.
lester
Filthy Rich wx Solver
Filthy Rich wx Solver
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:24 pm
Location: Ukraine

Post by lester »

maybe on windows You have static linked .exe?
quandary
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:47 pm
Location: Chocolate country
Contact:

Post by quandary »

lester wrote: maybe on windows You have static linked .exe?
Yes I do.
Hm, I installed the Linux version of wxWidgets with apt-get.

Does that mean that the Linux-version is dynamically linked by default ?

So it will miss the wxWidgets runtime on Linux, if it isn't installed?
Al Gore's four simple things that you can do to save the planet:
1) Eat your mail.
2) Don't drag your feet when you walk.
3) Do cross-word puzzles in your head.
4) Teach your pet to perform photosynthesis.
User avatar
tierra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1355
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Contact:

Post by tierra »

Auria
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6695
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:23 am
Contact:

Post by Auria »

quandary wrote: Does that mean that the Linux-version is dynamically linked by default ?

So it will miss the wxWidgets runtime on Linux, if it isn't installed?
yes and yes
Post Reply